ASSET provides assistance needed to acquire OSHA SHARP certification.  The Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) requires employers to create, support, and maintain a safety management system. Upon receiving SHARP recognition, your worksite will be exempt from programmed inspections during the period that your SHARP certification is valid.

OSHA SHARP can be acquired by the following method:

  • Request a consultation visit that involves a complete hazard identification survey

  • Involve employees in the consultation process

  • Correct all hazards identified by the OSHA consultant

  • Implement and maintain a safety and health management system that, at a minimum, addresses OSHA’s 1989 Safety and Health Program Management Guidelines

  • Lower your company’s Lost-Workday Injury and Illness rate (LWDII) and Total Recordable Case Rate (TRCR) below the national average

  • Agree to notify your state Consultation Project Office prior to making any changes in the working conditions or introducing new hazards into the workplace.\\


ASSET provides assistance needed to acquire OSHA VPP certification.  The Voluntary Protection Programs  (VPP) was created in 1982. OSHA’s Voluntary Protection Programs recognize and partner with businesses that show excellence in occupational safety and health. Sites are committed to effective employee protection beyond the requirements of OSHA standards. VPP participants develop and implement systems to effectively identify, evaluate, prevent, and control occupational hazards to prevent employee injuries and illnesses. 

OSHA SHARP can be acquired by the following methods:

  • Having an ongoing safety and health program that shows documented management leadership and employee participation, self evaluations of hazard identification at least annually, and continuous improvement

  • Cooperation by allowing access to information to OSHA consultants regarding high risk operations that are currently involvement in work processes and notifying the OSHA consultant when new high risk operations are added or discovered.  

  • Good performance through continuous improvement metrics that show injury and illnesses rates are trending positively. 


Levels of OSHA VPP (Based on Performance) Include:

  • Star

    • The Star Program is designed for organizations who have successful safety and health management systems. Those certified in the Star Program have achieved injury and illness rates at or below the national average of their respective industries. Star participants are reevaluated every three to five years and incident rates are reviewed annually.

  • Merit

    • Merit is an effective stepping stone to Star. Merit sites have good safety and health management systems, but these systems need some improvement to be judged excellent. Merit sites demonstrate the potential and the commitment to meet goals tailored to each site and to achieve Star quality within three years. However, each Merit site is limited to one three-year term unless a second term is approved by the Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health. Onsite evaluations occur every 18 to 24 months.

Click Here for more information regarding the OSHA SHARP/VPP requirements.

For more information or to schedule at our site, your site, or a remote site, then click the contact button and we will return your message within 24-48 business hours.